Iowa State Fair





Board Members


The Iowa State Fair Board consists of the Governor, the Secretary of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and the President of Iowa State University; two directors from each of six geographic districts; and a secretary/ manager/ CEO. During the annual State Agricultural Convention in December, representatives of county fairs elect State Fair Board members.

Board meeting agendas will be posted on this page 24 hours before an official board meeting as well as posted on the door of the meeting location. If you have questions about upcoming meetings, please email

    Tennie Carlson, President

    North Central District, Stratford

    Darwin Gaudian, Vice-President

    Northwest District, Primghar

    Curtis Claeys, Treasurer

    Southeast District, Grand Mound

    Dave Hoffman

    Northwest District, LeMars

    Alan Brown

    North Central District, Hampton

    Gary McConnell

    Southeast District,  Bloomfield

    John Harms

    Northeast District, Monticello

    Deb Zumbach

    Northeast District, Coggon

    Randy Brown

    South Central District, Osceola

    Jo Reynolds

    South Central District, Indianola

    C.W. Thomas

    Southwest District, Guthrie Center

    Gary Van Aernam

    Southwest District, Exira

    Honorable Kim Reynolds

    Director by Office Held
    Governor, State of Iowa, Des Moines
    Represented by Honorable Lt. Governor Adam Gregg

    Honorable Mike Naig

    Director by Office Held
    Secretary of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, Des Moines
    Represented by Deputy Secretary of Agriculture Julie Kenney

    President Wendy Wintersteen

    Director by Office Held
    President, Iowa State University, Ames
    Represented by Andrea Nelson

    Gary Slater

    Fair Secretary/Manager/CEO, Des Moines


    For those interested in learning which parts of Iowa are covered in a specific district.